Jeff Parker is recognized as one of contemporary music’s most versatile and innovative electric guitarists and composers. With a prolific output characterized by musical ideas of angularity and logic, he works in a wide variety of mediums - from pop, rock and jazz to new music - using ideas informed by innovations and trends in both popular and experimental forms. He creates works that explore and exploit the contrary relationships between tradition and technology, improvisation and composition, and the familiar and the abstract.

His sonic palette may employ techniques from sample-based technologies, analog and digital synthesis, and conventional and extended techniques from over 40 years of playing the guitar.

An integral part of what has become known as “The Modern Chicago Sound”, he is a longtime member of the influential indie band Tortoise, and also a founding member of the critically acclaimed and innovative groups Isotope 217˚ and Chicago Underground, and has been an associate member of the Association for the Advancement of Creative Musicians (AACM) since 1995. A look at his extensive work as a sideman offers a glimpse into Mr. Parker’s diversity. This list includes: Andrew Bird, The Ex, Peter Erskine, Joshua Redman, Toumani Diabate, Nicole Mitchell, Yo La Tengo, Daniel Lanois, Brian Blade and the Fellowship Band, Jason Moran, Matana Roberts, Joey DeFrancesco, Nels Cline, Charles Earland, Ken Vandermark, Dave Douglas, Fred Anderson, Tom Zé, and Meshell Ndegeocello. Parker has released several albums as a leader, all to critical acclaim, including: Like-Coping (2003), The Relatives (2005) Bright Light In Winter (2012), and The New Breed (2016). Currently, he has been focusing on music production, small ensembles and solo performance – to cultivate and establish an idiosyncratic relationship between electronic and acoustic compositional properties in music. 2016 saw new releases from Parker in the forms of an album of solo guitar (Slight Freedom), Eno-inspired ambient duo music with famed cornetist Rob Mazurek (Some Jellyfish Live Forever), an album that features his long-time interest in hip-hop production and sample-based music (The New Breed), and a new album from Tortoise (The Catastrophist).

Parker also scored two films in 2016: director Jill Campbell’s documentary about retired NBA legend Kenny Anderson, “Mr. Chibbs., which enjoyed a well-received premiere at DOC NYC in November, 2016, and acclaimed director Lee Anne Schmitt’s essay film, “Purge This Land With Blood”, which will premiere at The Copenhagen International Documentary Festival in March, 2017. He also contributed cues to director Kogonada’s much-anticipated indie feature, “Columbus”, which will premiere at 2017’s Sundance Film Festival.

"Parker, probably best known as a member of the post-rock band Tortoise, has absorbed so many styles and worked in so many situations that he really comes across as an individual with vast roots." -Jazz Times Magazine

“His sound is unmistakable, spastic and unpredictable, yet at the same time precise and refined…history will certainly reflect that he is one of the more noteworthy guitarists of his generation.” -Dusted Magazine

“The most humble guitar-god…whether digging into instrumental rock, groove-heavy organ jazz, or post-freedom space music, Parker chooses to highlight the more eccentric elements of his personal style. Rather than morphing to fit the music at hand, he somehow creates the illusion of bending the environment to his own sound.” -Neil Tesser,


Mr Musichead Gallery
7420 Sunset Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90046


Jeff Parker - guitar
Josh Nelson - piano
Anna Buttress - bass
Matt Mayhall - drums